Shopping Cart Empty

And Also The Trees

London, UK

And Also The Trees

At the beginning of the 80s, Robert Smith asked And Also The Trees, who were then a very young group, to support THE CURE on two of their British tours.
The relationship between them became more than professional (Smith produced one of their first demos and Lol Tolhurst, The Cure drummer at the time, produced their first album), developing into a long-term friendship, combined with a mutual admiration for each other's work.

It was with 1986's seminal Virus Meadow, an album of rich melancholy, that And Also The Trees truly found their own identity. The audiences, especially French ones, were enraptured with the dramatic nature of their work, the dense, chiming guitars and the relentless rhythmic spirals that perfectly complement the poetic lyrics of singer Simon Huw Jones.

In 2006, twenty seven years after the first And Also The Trees concert in a small town in Warwickshire, they recorded one of their best albums, (Listen For) The Rag And Bone Man, and proved themselves to be one of the few surviving 80s post-punk bands to still hold our attention.

And Also The Trees were invited to play the 7ème Ciel rooftop on 22 September 2008. It was their first ever acoustic gig. The concert delighted the group so much that they released an acoustic album of some of their songs, called When the Rains Come, in 2009, and then followed it up with two acoustic European tours.

Releases

Upcoming concerts

  • March 23, 2017
    Magasin 4
    Bruxelles (BE)
    Website

  • March 24, 2017
    Grend
    Essen (DE)
    Website

  • March 25, 2017
    Dark Spring Festival
    Berlin (DE)
    Website
    Facebook Event

  • May 13, 2017
    O2 Academy Islington
    London (GB)
    Website

Votre panier Vide

And Also The Trees

Londres, Royaume-Uni

And Also The Trees

Nous sommes dans la première partie des années 80 et Robert Smith invite à deux reprises And Also The Trees, un groupe alors confidentiel, à assurer à deux reprises la première partie des tournées britanniques de THE CURE.
Plus qu'une relation professionnelle, (Smith produira en partie une de leurs premières maquettes et Lol Tolhurst, alors batteur de The Cure, leur tout premier album) il naît entre les deux groupes une amitié sincère et une admiration pour le travail de l'autre.

C'est en 1986, avec la mélancolie profane et les élégie inquiétantes de l'album Virus Meadow, qu'And Also The Trees commence à tisser sa propre identité. Le public, notamment français, est captivé par la nature dramatique et poétique de leur travail. La singularité du son des guitares et les spirales rythmiques implacables complètent à merveille la richesse des paroles du chanteur Simon Huw Jones.

En 2006, soit vingt-sept ans après le premier concert d'And Also The Trees dans une bourgade du Warwickshire en Angleterre, AATT signe avec (Listen For) The Rag And Bone Man un de leurs meilleurs albums et deviennent, pour le coup, un des seuls groupes de l'ère post-punk, toujours en activité, à vraiment retenir l'attention.

Le 7ème Ciel invite And Also The Trees à jouer sur son toit parisien le 22 septembre 2008. Il s'agit du tout premier concert acoustique du groupe. La soirée est une belle réussite, tant et si bien que le groupe décide en 2009 d'enregistrer When The Rains Come, un album acoustique que le groupe défendra lors de deux tournées européennes.

Disques

Concerts à venir

  • Mars 23, 2017
    Magasin 4
    Bruxelles (BE)
    Website

  • Mars 24, 2017
    Grend
    Essen (DE)
    Website

  • Mars 25, 2017
    Dark Spring Festival
    Berlin (DE)
    Website
    Facebook Event

  • Mai 13, 2017
    O2 Academy Islington
    London (GB)
    Website